Sticky Lemon Cake with Glenisk

Sticky Lemon Cake

IMAG3184

Now, from the off, I’d like to be upfront about my baking skills; they are lacking in some finesse. Whenever we have a birthday in our family someone will most likely offer to make a cake for me. It’s not that I can’t bake, it’s just that I’m not the family pro baker (hats off to my sister who made my wedding cake!).

Recently Glenisk announced they were running a recipe competition. Glenisk yogurts have long been a favourite in our house, the girls devour their natural yogurt every evening for “bissert”, with sprinkles on top for special occasions. We have also recently discovered their Go-Yo’s which are great for bringing on picnics (now that we have some picnicy weather).

Anyway in light of a competition from a much-loved family brand I decided I’d pull up my baking socks and attempt a sticky lemon cake. I’ll let you be the judges of my efforts but it went down a treat in ours and only lasted the day (and also got praised by my expert wedding-cake-making sister)

Ingredients: 

175g (6oz) unsalted butter

250g (9oz) caster sugar

2 lemons

3 eggs

75g (2 1/2 oz) plain flour

2tsp baking powder

150g (5 1/2 oz) Glenisk Natural Yogurt.

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 170 C. Grease the cake tin and line the base with greaseproof paper.

2. Cream butter and 150g (5 1/2oz) of the sugar. Add the grated zest from the lemons.

3. Beat in eggs, one at a time (if you notice any curdling now, add a bit of flour and act like nothing happened)

IMAG3402

4. Mix flour and baking powder and fold into mixture.

IMAG3413

5. Stir in the juice of 1 lemon and the yogurt.

IMAG3427IMAG3421

6. Pour into tin.

IMAG3429

7. Bake for 40 minutes.

8. Remove and allow to cool in the tin.

9. Heat remaining sugar and juice in a saucepan. Pierce cake several times and drizzle syrup over cake. Allow to cool.

IMAG3441

10. Enjoy!

IMAG3185

Disclosure: Glenisk kindly sent me vouchers for their products in order to take part, but are adored by us anyway! 

3 thoughts on “Sticky Lemon Cake with Glenisk

Leave a Reply

