Three is the magic number?

IMAG1983

My husband and I don’t really plan. When I got pregnant with my second baby our first was 6 months old. It’s not that we don’t understand how contraception works (we do!) we just kind of think “sure feck it, it’ll be fine”. And do you know what? It really was fine. I worried so much before I had my second about how I would cope with her and her sister. When I first saw her all I could think was “Oh look! It’s only you! Why was I worrying?” I don’t know how it is with other mums but once mine are born I feel like I’ve known them forever. It’s like a family member coming home.

That’s not to say that there aren’t days when I am tearing my hair out and when my second was a newborn, my eldest watched WAY too much TV, but overall I am the happiest I’ve ever been. I may not have showered today or pee’d on my own but I am happy.

And now there will be three… I’ve only just gotten used to two and I’m starting to wonder whether we should really have done just a little planning this time. I have two hands, that works fine now because I have two kids, but how will I hold on to a third? My eldest will only be three! Will three car seats fit in the car? And how do you get a kid into the middle car seat?

I keep reminding myself of all the positives. They will be close in age, they will be good company for one another. We love our kids and we will love this one. Once the baby is born we won’t be able to imagine life without him/her.

And we will be happy. Frazzled, tired, impatient at times, but happy.

Leave a Reply

